WPCNJ | The Political Voice of New Jersey Women Since 1977

A Gain in WPCNJ Endorsed Women Legislators

Women's Political Caucus of New Jersey
Endorsed Candidates Sees Gain in Women Legislators
Trenton, NJ - Women's Political Caucus of New Jersey (WPCNJ) is celebrating the overwhelming success of women candidates in the Assembly races.  Nineteen women candidates endorsed by WPCNJ won on Tuesday night.  As a result, the Legislature has increased by one more woman legislator*.
Endorsed candidate Joann Downey and her running mate, Eric Houghtaling, defeated Republican incumbents Mary Pat Angelini and Caroline Casagrande in 11th Legislative District.  A major issue in the race was the legislative efforts to restore $7.5 million in cuts made by Governor Chris Christie to women's health programs.

"The voters have spoken and the issue of women's health care funding has clearly resonated," said WPCNJ President Michel Bitritto. "We are proud of all of our endorsed candidates for their efforts and congratulate our winners. But there is still plenty of work to do to elect more women."

Other newcomers endorsed by WPCNJ include Patricia Egan Jones (LD5), Angela McKnight (LD31) and Annette Chaparro (D33). Their victories bring the total of women legislators in the Assembly to 26*.

WPCNJ also enjoyed victories for two of its board members and past president. WPCNJ board member, Janice Kovach, won reelection for Mayor of Clinton and Andrea Katz, Treasurer of the Democratic Task Force, was elected to a full term on the Chesterfield School Board.  WPCNJ past president Joanne Rajoppi won reelection for Union County Clerk.


Congratulations to all of the endorsed winners of the 2015 General election!
Gabriela Mosquera (D) - District 4, Assembly
Patricia Egan Jones (D) - District 5, Assembly
Nilsa Cruz Perez (D) - District 5, Senate
Pamela R. Lampitt (D) - District 6, Assembly
Joann Downey (D) - District 11, Assembly
Liz Muoio (D) - District 15, Assembly
Nancy Pinkin (D) - District 18, Assembly
Annette Quijano (D) - District 20, Assembly
Nancy Munoz (R) - District 21, Assembly
Mila M. Jasey (D) - District 27, Assembly
L. Grace Spencer (D) - District 29, Assembly
Angela McKnight (D) - District 31, Assembly
Angelica Jimenez (D) - District 32, Assembly
Annette Chaparro (D) - District 33, Assembly
Sheila Oliver (D) - District 34, Assembly
Shavonda Sumter (D) - District 35, Assembly
Marlene Caride (D) - District 35, Assembly
Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D) - District 37, Assembly
Holly Schepisi (R) - District 39, Assembly

For more information on the Women's Political Caucus of New Jersey visit www.wpcnj.org.

* The number includes incumbent Donna Simon (LD16) in the list of women legislators so pending the outcome of LD16 race, this number could change.

Do you like this post?

Be the first to comment

Democratic Task Force
Republican Task Force
WPCNJ Education & Training

Like Us On Facebook

Tweets from @WPCNJ

Created with NationBuilder | Site by JRS Strategies